Life is Too Short to Wear Matching Socks

On any given day (if I’m required to wear shoes that needs socks, that is — because I prefer to go barefoot whenever I can) my feet look like this:

20140718_075813

Mismatched socks. Now, when I was a kid, I always wore matching socks. Sometimes I’d freak out if I didn’t have socks in pairs. And if I lost one of the mates? It was all over.

Somewhere towards the end of high school and beginning of college, I stopped caring. My socks never seemed to end up in the same loads of laundry, so they just got dumped into the drawer. And when the time came to get a pair of socks, I would just rummage around and pull out two.

The reality is, I think it’s just silly to waste time matching socks. Unfortunately, I still have to match my husband’s socks, because if I don’,t he’ll go out wearing one really long tube sock and one that comes up to his ankle. (I wish I was kidding.)

This got me thinking about the Top 3 Things I’ve found that I really just don’t want to spend time on.

1. Sorting laundry to be washed.
I pretty much never, ever do this. Once the hamper gets full, the whole thing gets dumped in the washer on a cold cycle. And you know what? I have never once had a white shirt turn pink (or any other color). Sorting our laundry into lights and darks and warms and colds just seems like a waste of time to me.

2. Make the bed.
To put a stipulation on this, I actually really love crawling into a made bed at night. You don’t have to worry about the covers getting shoved off in weird places because the sheet and blanket are all evenly distributed (and with a husband and a puppy in the bed, that’s a huge perk). When we were first married, (OK, that’s like 4 months ago… but you get my point) we made the bed together every morning and I loved that. But our schedule has gotten a little busier and we don’t put aside time for that in the morning anymore, because breakfast (and coffee) are a little more important.

3. Wear make-up every day.
When I was in high school, I had a very strict foundation-concealer-powder-mascara routine, which is already the basics where most people are concerned. I maintained that pretty well through college at first, until I hit about my junior year. Then I would miss maybe a day a week. And then my senior year hit, and I swear, I was pulling out those bottles maybe once a week.

Since I’ve gotten married and I’m working from home, I think I wear make-up once every couple of weeks. This has been freeing time-wise and money-wise, but it’s also helped me break out of a few of my body image issues. When I go out without make-up on, people don’t grimace and turn away from me. They really just don’t care. And I didn’t waste time on it, so it feels like a win-win.

These seem like mundane tasks, but freeing myself from compulsory tasks like this has made me feel like my time is more my own. I make time for other things instead. These three things and the dozens of others that I shirk (I don’t wash my hair everyday, either. I know, I’m a charlatan.) just seem to make life more simple. Prioritizing the things that I want to spend time on helps a lot. I make dinner every day. I have time for my writing. My house is not perfectly pristine at all times, but it’s livable. Life is too short to get caught up in in routines and have-tos.

So get out there and wear some mismatched socks.

~Teresa

Leave a Reply

